Yeshayahu Twenty-Nine: Yom HaZikaron

“And those who suffered shall increase their joy in the Lord, and the impoverished people shall rejoice in the Holy One of Israel (Isaiah 29:19).” Today is Yom HaZikaron, Israel’s memorial day for soldiers and victims of terror. It’s one of the hardest days of the year for me to be outside of Israel, and it’s been three years since I’ve had to mark the day in the Diaspora. When I started reading today’s chapter, I knew that I’d want to try to draw some connection from the text to the date, if at all possible. This verse jumped out at me. I like the idea that those who have felt pain, the indescribable pain of losing loved ones in Israel’s defense, will one day recover and be able to feel joy again. That’s my prayer for all of those who are mourning their families and friends, as well as the entire nation of Israel today.

Leave a Reply

