Yeshayahu Fifty-Six: Shabbat

Switching gears, let’s talk about Shabbat. “Fortunate is the man who will do this and the person who will hold fast to it, he who keeps the Sabbath from profaning it and guards his hand from doing any evil (Isaiah 56:2).” I’ve thought a lot lately about what it means to keep Shabbat. Now, I’m most definitely not shomer Shabbat [Shabbat observant] in any sort of technical sense. I use my phone, because I love being able to catch up with my far-flung family and friends. I watch TV, because I use it to unwind. I could go on and on justifying my vices, but that’s not the point here. The point is, what does it mean to keep Shabbat? I know what it means according to halacha and traditional, Orthodox Judaism. But to me? It means acknowledging something separate, something holy. It means marking the day as sacred, and developing rituals that speak to that. That’s my Shabbat.

Leave a Reply

