Yechezkel Twenty-Two: Yom Kippur

Today is Yom Kippur, the Jewish day of atonement. It’s one of the holiest days of the year, when we fast and repent for our sins. It’s meant to be a very reflective time, so I wanted to find a verse for the day that I could really find value in and connect to the day and the season of holidays. “Will your heart endure, or will your hands remain strong in the days that I will deal with you? I, the Lord, have spoken, and I shall perform (Ezekiel 22:14).” Every year, every day for some of us, there are things that we have to say strong about and things our hearts have to endure. It’s so easy to fall into despair in the face of adversary. We can very quickly get beaten down, emotionally and physically, by the struggles of our lives. I’m the first to admit that the majority of my problems are ‘first world problems.’ I, and my family and friends, are extremely blessed in our lives, but that doesn’t mean that things are easy by any means. There are plenty of things that don’t come easily, challenges to face, and it’s up to us to remain strong through them all.

Leave a Reply

