Yoel Four: Nations

More prophecies are made about the gathering of the nations. “I will gather all the nations and I will take them down to the Valley of Jehoshaphat, and I will contend with them there concerning My people and My heritage, Israel, which they scattered among the nations, and My land they divided (Joel 4:2).” This gathering is a reckoning of sorts, with the nations of the world being held responsible for how they treated the Jewish people throughout the intermittent centuries. It’s interesting to consider who is responsible for the tragic circumstances of the Jewish people throughout much of history. With God cursing and exiling the people, is He responsible, or is it the nations of the world who bear the burden of their actions throughout the generations?

With this question, Joel, the shortest book yet, ends. Tomorrow starts a new minor prophet, and things are moving along quickly!

I haven’t done a count update in a while, and I’m pleasantly surprised to report that as of today, 518 chapters down and 411 to go! I officially have less to go than I’ve already done!

Leave a Reply

