Amos Seven: Soul Searching

“Thus He showed me, and behold the Lord was standing on a wall made by a plumbline, with a plumbline in His hand. And the Lord said to me; What do you see, Amos? And I said, ‘A plumbline.’ And the Lord said, Behold I place a plumbline in the midst of My people Israel; I will no longer pardon them (Amos 7:7-8).'” I chose this verse because it’s not often that I don’t recognize a word in the English translation, and it seems like ‘plumbline’ is pretty crucial here. According to Google, it’s defined as: a line with a plumb attached to it, used for finding the depth of water or determining the vertical on an upright surface. So what does this have to do with a direct encounter with God? I believe this verse is talking about testing the depths of the people, testing their inners and the extent of their loyalty, efforts, and convictions. In this case, of course, the people come up short. I imagine that many of us would do so as well, if our very cores were examine by God. I’m not even able to be that introspective of myself, so I can only imagine what would happen if a divine being looked into my soul. What would be found? What am I in my deepest self?

Leave a Reply

