Tehillim Four: Relationships

Another psalm from King David. “When I call, answer me, O God of my righteousness; in my distress You have relieved me, be gracious to me and hearken to my prayer (Psalms 4:2).” This verse demonstrates to me the close nature of the relationship that David had with God. You have to be personally connected to someone in order to make heartfelt requests of them; in this case David asking God to answer him when he calls in prayer. This makes God intimate, as opposed to an all-encompassing ‘other.’ I’d be too intimidated by my own sense of inferiority to make demands that He listen to my prayers and problems. And not to say that God should be equal to us, but it is nice to think about feeling so close to Him that it becomes that mutualistic relationship, instead of divergent one-way streets.

Leave a Reply

