Tehillim Ten: Emotions

“You shall hear the desire of the humble, O Lord; may You prepare their heart, may Your ear hearken (Psalms 10:17).” This verse seems to be broken up into three separate pieces. There’s one about the desire of the humble, one about the heart, and one about God’s ear. What I want to focus on is the element that deals with God preparing the hearts of the humble. How do people prepare their hearts? I assume that I’m not totally abnormal, but for me, preparation rarely works when it comes to emotions. No matter how prepared I think I am for a difficult emotional encounter, if the raw feelings are there, my heart is just as vulnerable as it would have been with no preparation whatsoever. Is preparation like exercise? Should we be working our heart muscles so to speak, the same way we work our arms and legs?

Leave a Reply

