Tehillim Thirty-One and Thirty-Two: Complexity

Playing catch up from yesterday, so today brings you a 2 in 1 post! I decided to find verses in both that I could relate to the lesson that I’m sharing with my teens today. In Psalm 31, we see this verse: “And you did not deliver me into the hands of an enemy; You have placed my feet in a broad place (Psalms 31:9).” Then, in Psalm 32, we read the following: “Be not like a horse, like a mule that does not discern; whose mouth must be held with bit and bridle, so that when he is being groomed, he does not come near you (Psalms 32:9).” I’m trying to teach my teens about complexity, and navigating the gray area between black and white poles. I want them to embrace both broad and deep thinking, and to be careful and discerning in their exploration of situations. I want to give them the tools and skills to ask probing questions of others, and of themselves.

Leave a Reply

