Tehillim Thirty-Eight: Preparation

The verse that I chose from this chapter isn’t one that I necessarily found to be particularly profound. “For I am ready for disaster, and my pain is always before me (Psalms 38:18).” I started thinking about being ready for disaster in terms of ‘doomsday preppers,’ people who are always prepared for the worst, no matter what. I definitely don’t live that way myself, but I do like to be ahead of the game and ready for what’s to come. But how is this connected to pain? I often think that preparing is meant to minimize pain, because we are able to avoid hurt or anxiety along the way. But if we lead with our pain, does that mean that we’re ready for whatever hardships are ahead of us due to the foundation that we carry?

Leave a Reply

