Tehillim Thirty-Nine: Words

“I said, ‘I will guard my ways from sinning with my tongue; I will guard my mouth [as with] a muzzle while the wicked man is still before me (Psalms 39:2).” This verse jumped out to me because it seems like any trouble I ever get into comes from my tongue. I am known for being pretty sarcastic, and while 90% of the time others laugh and enjoy it, sometimes it goes that one step too far, and I inadvertently offend or hurt someone, which is NEVER my intent. This was much worse when I was younger. So, as I’ve grown up, I’ve tried to be more mindful of my tongue and my words, and this verse spoke to that effort for me. I want to be careful when I speak, to be intentional, and to be well-received.

Leave a Reply

