Tehillim Forty-Seven: Sing

The verse I chose from this psalm is a fairly straightforward one. “Sing to God, sing; sing to our King, sing (Psalms 47:7).” Clearly, we’re being commanded to sing in order to praise God. I know that for many people, music can provide a holy, even spiritual experience. I’m not normally one of them. You’ll never catch me listening to music when I’m by myself, and I’ve never understood people who just sit listening to music with nothing else going on. I can binge watch a TV show with the best of them, but music has never really spoken to me. But the experience of singing with others – on trips, at camp, in synagogue – does invoke something tribal within me. I love the feeling of being connected to others through shared experience, and singing definitely provides that.

Leave a Reply

