Tehillim Forty-Six: Changes

“Therefore we will not fear when the earth changes and when mountains totter into the heart of seas (Psalms 46:3).” This verse spoke to me because I’ve been thinking a lot about change, and about fear of change. And I’m not even talking about massive physical upheavals and global consequences, or terrifying things like mountains falling down. But even in my own personal daily life, change is something that it’s very difficult not to fear. I even find myself being afraid of future, far away changes. My husband will be applying for PhD programs next year, meaning that a little over a year from now, I might have to move again. Notice all of the qualifiers in that sentence: this might happen, and even if it does, it’ll be more than a year from now. And yet, I’m actively stressed about it right now. How can I (or any of us) avoid this?

Leave a Reply

