Tehillim Forty-Eight: Jerusalem

This psalm talks about Jerusalem, as many do. I’ve been missing Jerusalem a lot lately, particularly at this time of year. Just like the traditional Jewish holidays come as a group in the fall, the spring brings the season of modern holidays – Yom HaShoah, Yom HaZikaron, Yom HaAtzmaut, and Yom Yerushalayim. When I think about Jerusalem, there are several images that always come to mind. The smooth, slippery streets, the unique, soft light of evenings and mornings, and the strength of the walls. The walls of the Old City are mighty. When I was little they looked like a castle, and now, they continue to enchant and amaze me every time I see them. It’s something I hope I never get used to.

“Give heed to its walls, raise its palaces, in order that you may tell a later generation (Psalms 48:14).” Part of my role as an educator has been bringing Israel, and specifically Jerusalem, to life for my learners, that proverbial next generation. I know that I’ll keep doing so throughout my career, so this is one verse that I can confidently say I’ll bring to life.

Leave a Reply

