Tehillim Eighty-Three: Silence

“O God, have no silence, do not be silent and do not be still, O God (Psalms 83:2).” First, as a disclaimer, sometimes I think silence is truly golden. When I get home after a long day of work, it can be great to totally tune out, not have to formulate coherent enough thoughts to talk to anyone, and enjoy quiet. I’ve definitely told my husband – on many occasions – that we need some quiet time, that I need to decompress, and that it’s ok to sit companionably and not talk. I would probably get annoyed by anyone who couldn’t sit quietly at least some of the time. But should have no silence be taken literally? Is God supposed to be a hyperactive being? Or is it that there should be no silence in our relationships with God? They should always be open-door, accessible, and connected? That feels a lot better to me than the loud rambling that a lack of silence between humans can often lead to.

Leave a Reply

