Tehillim Ninety-Two: Shabbat

Today’s psalm is one that I know very well. It’s the psalm for Shabbat, one that I’ve heard and said countless times on Friday nights, and Saturday mornings, and have studied during classes on the Kabbalat Shabbat service, one of my favorite ones. I love the melodies that people use for this psalm, so it’s interesting to look at the English translations of the Hebrew words I’m so familiar with.

“The righteous one flourishes like the palm; as a cedar in Lebanon he grows. Planted in the house of the Lord, in the courts of our God they will flourish (Psalms 92:13-14).” It’s when we’re in God’s presence that we flourish the most, when we’re grounded – literally – is when we shine. Shabbat has always provided me with that grounding. It’s a way to mark the rhythm of the weeks, to create meaningful, mindful space on a constant cycle. I believe that people are at their best when they have a strong foundation which anchors them, while providing them with room to grow. My Jewish identity and the family that champions it is what provides me with that, and my greatest wish is that everyone finds their own place and passion to flourish.

Leave a Reply

