Tehillim One Hundred and Nine: Thankful

“I shall thank the Lord exceedingly with my mouth, and among many people I shall praise Him (Psalms 109:30).” I’m taking note of the word ‘exceedingly’ here. I know that I’m blessed in that if I gave over in terms of time and thought, I could come up with literally thousands of things to thank God for. It’s overwhelming to even try to acknowledge each thing that I should be grateful for in my life, so I’m going to try right now on a limited basis. At this moment, here are ten things I’m thanking God for, with my mouth as the psalmist says, and in this case with my keyboard:

  1. My incredible family
  2. The weekend we just spent at the beach – particularly being able to go in the ocean this summer
  3. My job – I’m so blessed to love what I do, the people I do it with, and to be paid to wake up every day and make a difference
  4. Keratin treatments – my hair has been looking so much better since I started doing these
  5. Having the opportunity to go back to school to pursue my doctorate
  6. The new Daniel Silva book – he’s one of my favorite authors and I wait all year for each new book, only to devour it within 48 hours and be stuck waiting again
  7. Chipotle
  8. Air conditioning
  9. My inspiring, passionate group of close friends
  10. My wonderful husband, and the blessing of having someone love me so much

That’s it for now – a combination of big deals and small pleasures. What are your first 10?

Leave a Reply

